Dinner with Friends

Dinner with Ashley

Tonight, I decided to make dinner for my aunt. Last week, at the Wild Ramp in Huntington, WV, we found a saffron linguine. Obviously, it peaked my interest, so my aunt bought it for me in return, I had to make dinner using it. I was thrilled. We also found some mixed greens in the farmers market. It consisted of kale, spinach and a few other greens with asparagus, parsley, and green onions all in one convenient bundle. Let me tell you how I made it!

Salad of Greens Topped with a Fried Green Tomato

IMG_7073

I put Ashley in charge of the salad. She started by cutting the greens. She then trimmed the asparagus, cut the mushrooms and diced the avocado. After that, we crumbled goat cheese over the top and tossed it with a warmed red wine vinaigrette. After it was all said and done, a fried green tomato acted as our crunchy crouton. It was the start of a beautiful meal.

Saffron Linguine in a Mediterranean Butter Sauce

IMG_7072

I first started by referencing my Flavor Bible which is featured in my March Favorites. I haven’t worked with saffron much since it is semi high in price. I looked up saffron and it paired it with so many different cuisines and ingredients. I decided to go towards a Mediterranean/Italian theme. Here’s how I made it.

I boiled my noodles in salt water for about 4 minutes. While that was cooking, I let a blend of dry thyme, rosemary, oregano, and basil steep in melted butter and olive oil. I also chopped up sun dried tomatoes, grilled artichokes, and kalamata olives and added it to the sauce on very low heat. I also added in some drained capers. I preferred not to add as many capers as the rest to control the salt. This recipe is really about what you, the cook, prefers. If you don’t like artichokes very well, leave them out, and maybe compensate with some lemon juice. Use common sense when cooking, and enjoy it.

Make enough sauce to coat your pasta and season with salt and pepper as needed. Remember this is a butter sauce. Olive oil is only used to cling to the pasta and to keep the butter from burning or browning. After the sauce was finished and the flavors develop, toss it with the pasta and serve warm. Grate fresh Parmesan cheese over the top.

I also prepared a grilled salmon. I seasoned it with salt, dill, lemon, paprika, garlic, rosemary, and parsley, and grilled it for only 1 minute per side. It was so flavorful and moist, and it paired so well with the pasta!

After finishing our glasses of wine, and practically licking our plates clean, we have resorted to the living room to watch The Hundred Foot Journey together.

Cheers!

unnamed

Leave a Reply

