Farm to Table

What is Farm to Table?

“The first supermarket supposedly appeared on the American landscape in 1946. That is not very long ago. Until then, where was all the food? Dear folks, the food was in homes, gardens, local fields, and forests. It was near kitchens, near tables, near bedsides. It was in the pantry, the cellar, the backyard.”

Joel Salatin

In a nutshell, farm to table is knowing where your food comes from. Contrary to popular belief, this does not mean that you have to befriend the cow, name the carrots and live on a farm to bring this idea to your own kitchen, although I guess that would be ideal.  Farm to Table, I think, is a mindset. It is changing your routine to buying your vegetables from a farmer’s market; buying from a butcher; making your own butter or cheese. It is a change of life and mind. Convenience stores and foods have taken over our tables. It is easier to buy a jar of gravy or stock than to make your own. Does it taste better? Lol no, not even close.

My grandmother is only 60 years old. She grew up in a time where a trip to the grocery store was a rare event. Most of the food she ate came from her family’s garden. They ate what was in season, and when fall and winter came around, her mother canned anything and everything so that could have vegetables in the winter. She froze fresh corn kernels, which my grandmother describes as the best corn she’s ever had, and the canned tomatoes; nothing compares. To this day, she says she cannot find any tomato sauce quite as good. Farm to table was not a trend for her; it was a way of life. She knows what good food tastes like, and she grew up eating healthy and nutritious food, and I envy her.

I am starting to take back my food and go back in time, and do the little things that become the big things. Here are my rules:

  1. Go to the grocery store as little as possible. I will search in farmer’s markets to buy my produce, dairy and eggs. I will also search out local butchers to buy my meat.
  2.  Know what is in season and emphasize that ingredient in my cooking.
  3. Simplify my food. Quality ingredients will speak for themselves.
  4. Make anything and everything I can from scratch.

So stay tuned for more Farm to Table.

One thought on “What is Farm to Table?

Leave a Reply

